Norwegian Pearl
Norwegian Pearl
Ship Run
7 Day Eastern Caribbean Run

Here I am only four days away from stepping onboard and all I can think is how lucky I am to realize another dream of mine.  When I graduated I told people I was going to Menorca and then working on a cruise ship.  What those people don’t know is that I didn’t have this job secured until five days ago when I received my plane ticket.  Before then, I was meticulously perfecting cover letters while in Spain.  I was blindly waiting to hear from any of the six cruise lines for which I applied.  I was scrambling for a job in Colorado, slowly running out of money.  I felt the strong uncertainty of my future before me.  Maybe I was too ambitious to reach for such a job.  After several weeks, like the sight of land to a lost boatman, an e-mail from Norwegian Cruise Lines came.

All our dreams can come true…if we have the courage to pursue them. – Walt Disney

On Saturday I will be boarding the Norwegian Pearl as a member of the NCL Youth Staff.  My ship will make loops around the Eastern Caribbean returning to Miami every week until I leave.  I will meet thousands of kids, fellow crew, and tourists.  I will live in a tiny cabin with several roommates, eat in a mess hall, work seven days a week, and get very little sleep.  I will travel to destinations I have never been before and see some of the most beautiful beaches in the world.  I will have yet another unforgettable experience and some of the best times of my life.

