For those who have had enough of the touristy beach ports and are ready for adventure among glaciers, bears, and miles of wilderness, a cruise through Alaska satisfies a hunger for the outdoors. Spending six weeks on the Pearl, my very first ship with NCL, allowed me ample time to get to know the port towns of Juneau, Skagway, and Ketchikan. These quaint towns, with populations between 800 and 30,000, are reminiscent of mountain towns I’m familiar with in Colorado. Cruising on a 93,000 ton ship through the ice-capped mountains and enormous glaciers, however, was like nothing I had ever seen. I mean, who else can see humpback whales breaching from their workplace window? Alaska has many unique features to it, setting it apart from the continental U.S. One of the best moments was stepping outside on the deck at 2 am and seeing a glow of light still lingering in the sky, illuminating the white tips of the mountains.

Luckily, my family was able to share in this experience when they came and cruised on the Pearl in June. It was there first cruise with NCL as well as their first time seeing me in action. My parents, Brian, and our friend Brendan, enjoyed the shore excursions, free buffets, and all the liberties that come along with “Freestyle Cruising” (sometimes a little too much..ahem-Brian..). It was great to have them on board and able to see what I’ve been doing for the past two years!

As for my upcoming plans…I have recently received a job as a part-time Spanish Teacher for grades K-4th in Denver at the Logan School for Creative Learning. I am very excited to be starting a more permanent job and enjoy the benefits of land life! In addition to this job, I have just starting work at Streetside South, a dance studio where I take classes for fun. A couple times a week I teach ZUMBA and Baby Hip Hop (for ages 3-5). If you’re in the area, come check us out! http://streetsidesouth.com

