So it’s been quite a while! Here’s what I’ve been up to…

 

The past few months I have been settling in to my new positions and exploring all the benefits of living in one place. Teaching Spanish has always been a goal of mine, and so far the year has been just what I expected. The school I teach at is for gifted students, which means I have relatively small classes of advanced, eager learners. In other words, I’m a very spoiled teacher. In addition, I have a good deal of freedom within my own classroom, and am encouraged to explore creative experiential ways of learning. Some of my lessons include an “Amazing Race” activity around the whole school, a class presentation where students “dined” in one another’s restaurants, and a celebration of the Festival de Mil Tambores (Festival of 1,000 Drums). It’s been a lot of fun so far, and I can’t believe half of the school year has already passed!

 

Aside from teaching at school, I have been teaching Zumba and Baby Hip Hop at a dance studio. If you haven’t been caught up in the craze yet, Zumba is a Latin dance aerobic workout class. It is good for people of all levels and ages. I love the music and getting the chance to lead people in their workout (including my mom). Baby Hip Hop is a beginning class for kids age 3-5. I teach them basics like stretching, across the floor warm-ups, rhythm, balance, and coordination. The class prepares them to take Matt’s Kids Hip Hop class at the studio. The kids are adorable and fun, and they love to dance-even at 3 years old!  I’ve also been attending Hip Hop classes and participating in the Adult troupe, which performs three times a year.  Check it out if you’re in town!

 

In more recent news, I just recently returned from a trip to Disney World with my boyfriend, Matt. We spent the weekend as most would, riding rides and getting caught up in the magic. But we also spent time as many would NOT, that is…running a marathon! This past Sunday I ran my very first marathon around all four parks of Disney, 26.2 miles. Crazy, right? Actually Matt did something even crazier, called the Goofy Challenge. For this extra medal, you must run a half marathon (13.1 miles) on Saturday, and then a full marathon on Sunday. Yes-that’s a total of 39.3 miles. We both completed our races with no injuries but a lot of sore muscles. We were sure to wear our medals around the rest of the day so people weren’t worried when we were hobbling around Epcot.

 

I will post pictures in my next post from my classroom at school and our Disney trip. Happy new year!

