What do you want to be when you grow up?
As kids,
we got asked this question a lot. From parents, teachers, elders
we were told be thinking about
our future.
Dream big!
You can be anything you want.
At age five
You might have said
A fireman!
A movie star!
At age nine
You might have said
A rock star!
A doctor!
At fifteen
You might have said
A lawyer!
A biologist!
At twenty five
You might have said
An entrepreneur!
A politician!
Did you do it?
Did you dream your big dream?
At age eight
I said
I’d be a teacher
And a supermodel
I’m only one of those things now
But still wondering
What do I want to be when I grow up?
I want to be
A traveler
An artist
A mother
A counselor
A cook
A leader
A gardener
A wife
A surfer
A critic
A redeemer
A hiker
A biker
A motivator
A writer
They told me to think about my future,
To dream big,
To be anything I want.
I won’t stop dreaming
Because I’ll never grow up.

