When I look back on the last year, I almost can’t believe how fortunate I’ve been in the last 12 months.  I began 2015 with big goals and dreams for myself.  From the start, I put 2014 behind me and jumped into one of the best years of my life.
2015, I am grateful for the experiences you gave me:
went surfing for the first time (terrifying)
met the love of my life ❤
ran my first marathon alone
went white-water rafting for the first time in CO, and then again in the Amazon
got promoted to a supervisor
got a tattoo
traveled to 18 cities around the world, several of them twice!
watched my twin nieces grow in the belly and then met them face to face
did more creative writing
had good friends and family come visit in Denver
went to South America for the first time
had several kitchen dance parties, and an epic battle in a San Diego bar
sat in the front row center for not one, but two musicals on Broadway in NYC
hiked a volcano
took a lot of baths
got 8 hours of sleep or more (consistently)
loved myself more
rode bikes on the beaches of Chicago
survived not one, but four, “boat rides from hell”
ran my fastest marathon as part of a 48.6 mile series
saw my first concert at Madison Square Gardens
ate a slug (and liked it!)
went camping for the most consecutive time in my life
saw a real shrunken head
ran races for chocolate, and for pumpkin pie
climbed barefoot up to the top of the Sand Dunes
met life-changing people who helped me realize that it’s never too late to travel
heard my niece speak some of her first words (and even some in Spanish!)
snorkeled with sea lions, penguins, and marine iguanas (oh my)
moved to the city in Denver (walking distance from everything I need!)
did Zumba with my students on the top of the Andes mountains
had my cake, and ate it too
learned how to order Korean food
bought a bike and rode it to school
ran in the early morning with a student from our hostel in DC to the Lincoln Memorial, empty of tourists
sat on top of a 300lb alligator
became a WFR-certified life saver
ate guinea pig
started learning Portuguese
reached the peak of 2 fourteeners in one day
signed a contract to teach in Colombia for the next two years (!!)
